Latest News

Oklahoma’s Planning Awards Recipients to be Honored at Annual State Conference

September 28, 2018
For more information contact:
Danielle Barker, President
Oklahoma Chapter American Planning Association
Phone 405-603-3466
Oklahoma’s Planning Awards Recipients to be Honored at Annual State Conference
The American Planning Association - Oklahoma Chapter (APA Oklahoma) recently announced the winners of the 2018 Planning Awards Program. The awards honor outstanding plans, best practices, and innovative concepts throughout Oklahoma. The five award winners will be recognized at the 2018 Annual State Planning Conference at the Reed Conference Center in Midwest City, Oklahoma on October 1, 2018.
“2018 marks the fourth year of the re-established Awards Program. This year’s nominations further show all of the great planning projects going on around Oklahoma,” said APA Oklahoma President and Danielle Barker. Nominees were asked to submit a project description, along with support letters, plans, maps, renderings, and photos as appropriate. A tri-state jury of five professional planners from Oklahoma, Vermont, and Arkansas reviewed and rated the submissions using a scoring matrix. “Three recipients were selected to receive the Outstanding Plan Award. The other categories that had award winners were Outstanding Citizen Planner and Great Public Space,” noted Barker.
A 2018 Outstanding Plan is awarded to the City of Tulsa and The Lakota Group for Peoria Ave BRT (Bus Rapid Transit) Land Use Framework. The framework provides land use, zoning, infrastructure and economic development recommendations specific to each of the seven enhanced BRT station areas. The Peoria BRT will provide a new type of transit service for visitors and citizens of Tulsa and is the first use of BRT technology in the state of Oklahoma.
A 2018 Outstanding Plan is awarded to the City of Moore and their consultant team, comprised of Guernsey, LandDesign, Duncan Associates, Butzer Architects and Urbanism and Sedgwick Consulting Group for the Envision Moore Plan 2040, the Comprehensive Plan for Moore. The plan outlines strategies to promote a variety of goals for the community including a mix of uses, sales tax generation, transportation issues, and resiliency.  
A 2018 Outstanding Plan is awarded to the City of Bethany and MIG for the Bethany Comprehensive Plan 2030, the Comprehensive Plan for Bethany. The plan was the first update of Bethany’s Comprehensive Plan since 1972. The plan provides an innovative roadmap for development using mixed use throughout key areas of the city and provides a new vision for the city.
The 2018 Outstanding Citizen Planner is awarded to Gilbert Carlson, a lifelong engaged citizen of the City of Bethany. Mr. Carlson serves as Vice-Chair of the Planning and Zoning Commission, member of the Bethany Economic Development Authority, and Vision 23 Leadership group for revitalization efforts on Bethany’s portion of Northwest 23rd Street. Through countless hours of volunteerism and assistance his efforts will benefit the citizens of Bethany for years to come.  
The 2018 Great Public Space is presented to the City of Bixby for Charley Young Park. The Charley Young Park is within the heart of downtown Bixby and has roots dating back to the 1920’s. The redesign of this historic park included the addition of pedestrian and bike facilities, street-scaping on the park’s perimeters, wayfinding signage and increased landscaping.
“We are very proud of these projects and excited to honor them at our Annual State Planning Conference in Midwest City,” said Barker.
For additional information about the APA Oklahoma Awards Program, visit:
The Oklahoma Chapter of the American Planning Association ( is an independent, not-for-profit educational and professional organization. We further the mission of National APA ( in advancing the art, science and profession of good planning-- physical, economic, and social -- so as to create communities that offer better choices for where and how people work and live in Oklahoma. 


Presenting Sponsor

Mailing Address
PO Box 158
Bixby, OK 74008

Physical Address
12 West Dawes Avenue 
Bixby, OK 74008


Phone: 918-366-9445
Fax: 918-366-9443

Hours of Operation
Monday – Thursday: 9:00AM – 4:00PM
Friday: 9:00AM – 12:00PM

© 2021 Bixby Metro Chamber of Commerce.
Powered by Libiny Solutions.